Man U

Unique hat-trick for De Gea


DAVID DE GEA has become the first player to be crowned Manchester United’s Player of the Year for a third successive season.

The goalkeeper picked up the Sir Matt Busby Award at the club’s end-of-season dinner on Monday night after another excellent season.

Only one other player has picked up the prize on three occasions, Cristiano Ronaldo (2004, 2007, 2008).

De Gea said: “It is difficult for me to say anything; winning this trophy three years in a row is amazing.

“I am really happy, it’s an honour to receive this and I want to thank the fans, who are the best in the world.”

The concern for United fans is whether De Gea will be around next campaign to challenge for the award for a fourth successive season.


Real Madrid will reportedly come again for the Spanish number one this summer and De Gea is said to be ready to finally leave Old Trafford if the Red Devils fail to qualify for the Champions League.

Earlier, defender Chris Smalling was named Players’ Player of the Year and Anthony Martial won the Goal Of The Year award for his debut strike against Liverpool at Old Trafford.

Cameron Borthwick-Jackson was named Under-21 Player of the Year and Marcus Rashford took the prize in the Under-18s category.

Will De Gea still be at United next season?


Click here to check out Football Advisor


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Soccersweep is a site dedicated to the beautiful game. We may not always be right, but we aim to offer integrity and insight, reflecting on the modern game in all its glory, greed and grandeur.

92 Languages!


Copyright © 2016 Soccersweep. Soccersweep is based in Clapham South, London, UK.

To Top