Man U

Revealed! Wayne Rooney didn’t vote for De Gea as Man United’s poty


England and Manchester United forward, Wayne Rooney has revealed he voted for Daley Blind as the clubs players’ player of the year and not the eventual and expected winner, David De Gea.

It was widely expected that, goalkeeper, David De Gea will scoop the award for the third season in a row.

However, the skipper of the side, Rooney, who won the award twice in 2006 and 2010, decided to acknowledge the Dutch defender for his “Brilliant” campaign.


“I find it difficult to vote for goalkeepers. For me personally, Daley and Chris (Smalling) have been brilliant for us. I went with Chris last year so it’s Daley this year,” he told MUTV.

The United team will come against Norwich City at the Carrow Road stadium on May 7.


Click here to check out Football Advisor


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Soccersweep is a site dedicated to the beautiful game. We may not always be right, but we aim to offer integrity and insight, reflecting on the modern game in all its glory, greed and grandeur.

92 Languages!


Copyright © 2016 Soccersweep. Soccersweep is based in Clapham South, London, UK.

To Top