Diego Costa escapes action for incident vs Man City

Diego Costa

Diego Costa will not receive a retrospective ban from the FA after he appeared to kick out at Vincent Kompany.

That’s according to the Mirror, who suggest that referee Mike Dean did see the incident and decided it wasn’t a red card offence.

For Costa to be suspended, Dean would have needed to admit he hadn’t witnessed it.

It’s just the latest in a string of offences by the striker this season.

For a while, it seemed he was doing something to shed his bad-boy reputation, but it’s returned in recent months.

Perhaps it all stems from whether or not he’s happy at the club.

Since he was linked with the Chinese Super League in January, he has lacked consistency in terms of goalscoring and has been involved in several moments like this.

Take a look at the incident in the footage below:

Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola must have been left wincing having decided to start Kompany for the first time this season.

The Belgian’s notorious injury problems didn’t seem to deter Costa from lashing out, but fortunately, it doesn’t seem to have made too much impact on the centre-back.

Check out Football Advisor for profitable betting predictions


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Soccersweep is a site dedicated to the beautiful game. We may not always be right, but we aim to offer integrity and insight, reflecting on the modern game in all its glory, greed and grandeur.

92 Languages!


Copyright © 2016 Soccersweep. Soccersweep is based in Clapham South, London, UK.

To Top